Chaos Theory

A view of Commercial Drive in my rear view mirrorI’ve never been fickle about my feelings for where I live.  The Commercial Drive area, one of the oldest neighbourhoods in Vancouver, was voted one of the top 10 places to live in North America by the Utne Reader, so I’m clearly not the first person to appreciate its charm.

The high street,  (known esoterically to local residents as The Drive), has shops, delis, cafes and restaurants that attract shoppers and diners from all over the city.  I’ve lived in this neighbourhood for 15 years.  I have a suite in an old character house, and despite the compromises of an 80+-year-old structure (few electrical sockets, the odd leak…), I revel in its charm: high ceilings, hardwood floors, a fireplace and a claw foot tub over 5 feet long (sigh!).

A few years ago my friends got busy buying condos and houses.  I stayed put, partly for economic reasons, but ultimately because I love this neighbourhood and knew that buying would mean having to skulk out to the suburbs where real estate is just a tiny bit more affordable.

But you know what they say about all good things (cue in violins).  The other day my neighbour told me she’d seen my landlord talking to a real estate agent in front of the house.  The market is hot, so for my landlord to sell is a no brainer.  I promptly left him 2 messages that haven’t been answered (he’s out of town).  I’ve spent the last few days quietly freaking out over the possibility of having to find a new place that may have a much higher rent, or worse, be in a different neighbourhood (dramatic crescendo!).

I’m not a natural worrywort and I’m not prone to suffering petty subjective anxieties, but man, I don’t want to think about leaving this area.

That said, who knows what the wind of change will blow in.  My worries may be completely unsubstantiated.  I try my best to think in terms of the proverbial glass being half full, so if a butterfly wants to flap its dainty little wings on a hillside in Japan, let it.  If I have to move, I can always come back.  With over 100 years under its belt, this neighbourhood isn’t going anywhere.

Leave a Reply

